Fire restrictions issued for local BLM lands

CAÑON CITY, Colo. - The Bureau of Land Management has imposed fire restrictions on most of the land it manages in Southern Colorado.

Stage 1 restrictions took effect June 12, and apply to all BLM-managed lands in the counties of Baca, Bent, Chaffee, Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, Lake, Las Animas, Otero, Park, Prowers, Pueblo and Teller.
Under stage 1 fire restrictions, the following activities are not allowed:

  • Building, maintaining, attending or using a fire, campfire, any type of charcoal-fueled broiler or open fire of any type; EXCEPT in BLM-developed campgrounds and picnic areas, and only in BLM-provided, manufactured fire grates and grills.

  • Smoking, EXCEPT within an enclosed vehicle or building, in a developed recreation site or while stopped in an area at least three feet in diameter that is barren or cleared of all flammable materials.

  • Operating or using any internal combustion engine without a spark- arresting device properly installed, maintained and in effective working order

The following is allowed on all BLM lands:

  • Using cooking stoves, lanterns and other appliances fueled by liquid petroleum or bottled fuels that are equipped with an on-off valve for the flame.

Additionally, fireworks are not allowed at any time on any public lands managed by the BLM, U.S. Forest Service or the National Park Service.

For more information about fire restrictions on other lands in your area, please contact the sheriff's office for the county in which you live.

comments powered by Disqus

Must See Videos

  • Tonight at 10: Inside the Thunderbirds Airshow
  • 2 dead in Highway 24 crash near Peyton
  • WATCH: Abby's Early Tuesday Forecast
  • Slap Me Some Skin