El Paso County Republican Assembly shapes primary races

El Paso, Colo. - The 2018 El Paso County Republican Assembly was held Saturday to set the primary races.

The assembly was held at the University of Colorado - Colorado Springs.

Here are some of the results:


County Commission District 1 -

Holly Williams and Calandra Vargas will be on the ballot for County Commission District 1. There was a tie in votes Saturday, so a coin toss was held to determine which candidate would get the top line on the ballot. Williams won the coin toss to get the top line.


County Commission District 5 -

Vickie Tonkins and Cami Bremer will be on the ballot for County Commission District 5.


El Paso County Sheriff -

There will be a primary vote held for El Paso County Sheriff. Current Sheriff Bill Elder received 64% of the votes at Saturday's assembly, while Mike Angley received 36% of the votes. They will both be on the primary ballot.


Various County Positions -

Dr. Leon Kelly became the candidate for coroner by acclimation. Current El Paso County Dr. Robert Bux is retiring. Dr. Kelly is currently his second in command.

Steve Schleiker received the nomination for County Assessor by acclimation. Chuck Broerman also won the nomination for Clerk & Recorder by acclimation.


Senate Districts -
Paul Lundeen was nominated for Senate District 9 by acclimation, while Patrick McIntire was nominated for Senate District 11 by acclimation.

The Democratic County Assembly will be held March 31st. Stay with KRDO NewsChannel 13 for those results.

comments powered by Disqus

Must See Videos

  • WATCH: Rep. Doug Lamborn ruled ineligible for ballot due to petition issue
  • -5 million to repair fire damage at Colorado Springs Airport
  • Accused Nashville shooter has Colorado ties
  • Fallen Sheriff Deputys family surprised with yard makeover
  • Repairs rebuilding begin after 117 Fire in Hanover