Fire restrictions issued for local BLM lands

Chris Loveless, Digital Content Director ,
POSTED: 01:17 PM MDT Jun 18, 2013    UPDATED: 01:29 PM MDT Jun 18, 2013 

The Bureau of Land Management has imposed fire restrictions on most of the land it manages in Southern Colorado.

Stage 1 restrictions took effect June 12, and apply to all BLM-managed lands in the counties of Baca, Bent, Chaffee, Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Jefferson, Kiowa, Lake, Las Animas, Otero, Park, Prowers, Pueblo and Teller.
Under stage 1 fire restrictions, the following activities are not allowed:

The following is allowed on all BLM lands:

Additionally, fireworks are not allowed at any time on any public lands managed by the BLM, U.S. Forest Service or the National Park Service.

For more information about fire restrictions on other lands in your area, please contact the sheriff's office for the county in which you live.