DENVER, Colo - It's the start of a new year, and with it, new laws for Colorado.
Here is a list of five laws that went into effect at the stroke of midnight, Sunday Jan. 1 of 2017.
MINIMUM WAGE: The minimum wage for Colorado workers will now go from $8.31 an hour to $9.30 cents. Voters approved a constitutional hike in November to raise the minimum wage for the state. Every year beginning in 2017 the wage will gradually increase until $12 an hour in 2020.
HOV LANES: New CDOT requirements says drivers must have three people in their vehicle in order to use the High Occupancy Vehicle lanes located in Denver and Boulder. The previous requirement was two.
"RIGHT TO DIE LAW": Terminally ill Coloradans will now be legally allowed to take their own life through the prescribed help of a licensed physician. Voters approved this measure in November.
PERSONNEL FILES: A bill passed making it easier for employees to view their personnel file should they wish. Currently, some businesses kept that private.
MEDICAL MARIJUANA: Some new restrictions will take effect regarding who can administer medical marijuana. Primary caregivers will remain able to cites Colorado lawmakers.