Recreational Marijuana Bans

Many Southern Colorado counties saying "no" to pot

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Colorado is in the stages of of adding to the pages of history. In the last few months, cities, towns and counties across the state have been voting Yea or Nay on whether to allow Recreational Marijuana.

Right now, Denver's the only major Colorado city to approve recreational pot. Here in southern Colorado, approval has been given in Huerfano, Costilla, Saguache and Pueblo counties.

However , recreational marijuana has been banned in almost every other southern Colorado county. That includes El Paso, Douglas, Rio Grande, Alamosa, Las Animas, Baca, Prowers, Bent, Crowley, Kiowa, Lincoln, Cheyenne, Otero, Custer and Fremont counties.

Recreational marijuana bans are also in effect in Colorado Springs, Woodland Park, Blanca, Del Norte, Calhan, Monument, Castle Rock, Fountain, Palmer Lake and Green Mountain Falls.  The cities of Pueblo and Canon City currently have moratoriums on pot.

Bear in mind, though that that only reflects Southern Colorado cites and counties.

comments powered by Disqus

Must See Videos

  • CDOT responds to safety complaints along U.S. 24
  • Marty's Saturday Morning Forecast - 5/27/17
  • Matt's Friday Evening Forecast 5/26/17
  • Pueblo houses one of the largest public archives in U.S.