Sign up for emergency notifications

POSTED: 08:25 PM MDT Jun 21, 2013    UPDATED: 08:47 PM MDT Jun 21, 2013 

The importance of emergency preparedness has been highlighted by the recent wildfires in Colorado.

Most Southern Colorado counties have a reverse emergency notification system that calls your phone when there is an emergency:

Alamosa County

Baca County

Bent County

Chaffee County

Conejos County

Costilla County

Crowley County

Custer County - No phone alerts

Douglas County

El Paso County

Elbert County

Fremont County

Huerfano County

Kiowa County

Las Animas -- No phone alerts.

Lincoln County -- No phone alerts.

Otero County

Park County

Prowers County

Pueblo County

Rio Grande County

Saguache County

Teller County